Alex Ezeh Announced 2018 TWAS Prize Winner

December 19, 2017

via The World Academy of Sciences

APHRC’s Executive Director Emeritus Alex Ezeh has been announced as one of the 2018 TWAS Prize Winners. Ezeh was awarded the Social Sciences award for his vitally important demographic studies of African population, health and education, which provide essential insights into sustainable development.

TWAS Prizes are awarded in nine fields: Agricultural Sciences, Biology, Chemistry, Earth Sciences, Engineering Sciences, Mathematics, Medical Sciences, Physics, and Social Sciences. This year, there are 12 prize winners: one from Argentina; two from Brazil; three from China; two from India; one from Kenya; one from Mexico; one from South Africa and one from Turkey. The prize winners include four women.

Each TWAS Prize carries a cash award of USD15,000. The winners will lecture about their research at TWAS’s 28th General Meeting in 2018, when they will also receive a plaque and the prize money.